Word Salad I

22 Feb

I saw myself die. How? Too vague. I’m not sure if I was underground, but I saw a box. He was there and we could converse since I was supposedly, dead. I could walk out and about, but he couldn’t. He was locked in. His box was sealed too tight, and beneath the lid were more protective layers of newspaper. For some reason, the box was transparent, and it was massive. Lots of headroom. He waved furiously, it’s been a long time.

Apparently, the living could still see me as my death was incomplete. Only some people could, at least. They wanted to resurrect me, still searching for a ‘cure’. My mum was the most miserable, searching endlessly. But, my sister was enjoying the half-dead sibling. Kept poking fun, or making me do things a homo sapien was incapable of.

The scene changes. I found myself back in NY, it was an assembly ceremony. A space was left for me. Some could see me, some couldn’t. Those who couldn’t had perplexity scribbled all over their faces, for those who could appeared to be speaking to nothingness. That nothingness was me.

I got startled awake by a sound, my fingers and leg were stiff as they were plastered down. Are my bones still growing? Best not to move them.

Back to dream land.

My alarm rang incessantly – 10.30am.  I keep forgetting that I don’t need it this week since it’s the holidays. Press and hold the red button. Drowsy me, dozed back to sleep.

This time, I was back in A&G. Reporting for my first day of work, and late.

“Sorry, I just came from the hospital.” (I remember hospital was just a watered down version of what happened, but at this moment, what actually transpired is now a fuzzy memory)

New batch of interns. I saw a familiar face, I called out her name and ran up to her. She stared at me, puzzled. I looked at her again, her face changes. Her brows became bushier.

“Oh, you really resemble a girl I know. She interned here the other time”

She smiles.

A lady walks up to me. Asks me to fill in a form, and says, let me take you around. She brings me to the company’s library. It looked like a massive bookstore. Everyone was preoccupied. Book in hand, plugged in to the music. It was perfect.

She takes me to her dinner place, newspapers all over. 2 grunge-looking guys sat there, perusing the papers with bike helmets on the table. I thought to myself – those guys are lawyers? Cool. Walked into another room, filled with more interns along a long table. They glanced over. One of them was a friend, he walked over. Midway through the conversation, I woke up.

This time, for real. Refreshed.

11:20am, back to reality.

The connecting bits which made the sequence of dream-events logical are beyond recall

Note to self: Leave the computer on standby mode or have pen and paper within reach

Leave a Reply

