3D Storybook

5 Feb

Tracy Snelling is amazing. She utilizes familiar scenes to craft realistic models. Her models are more than your average doll house and this piques the curiosity of the individual looking in. Are there tiny people housed in her 3D models? Are her models a mere facade for something more peculiar brewing inside? One can only wonder.


Excerpts from an interview with the artist:

Kirsten Incorvaia: How does the collective consciousness feed into these worlds- are the scenes from our memories, our imaginations, our dreams?

Snelling: I find that the collective conscious often feeds into the interpretation of my work. For the majority of the viewers, there is an idea and memory of a liquor store or a strip club. For instance, a liquor store sculpture can remind someone who grew up in Kentucky of the liquor store down the street, while it reminds another person of a liquor store in Bakersfield. The further away the “location” of the sculpture from the location and culture of where the work is exhibited, the more possibility there is that the viewer thinks of the generic idea of a place, the representations of that place they have seen in film, and their imagination of that place.

Kirsten Incorvaia: In your scenes, film stars and advertisement models take the place of “average people” you might actually find in a liquor store or fast food joint. Are these the only faces that will live on as our generation’s cultural artifacts?

Snelling: Sometimes, the casts in my sculptures are popular actors, but other times they are unknown actors or even myself or my friends. I also use clips of random people from youtube sometimes, which makes an “unknown” person become a “known” person, in a different way. I don’t idolize celebrities in my work though. Rather, I take a celebrity and make him or her a random character.

There seems to be a new trend – the art of miniaturizing.

Personally, I love it. Whilst playing with Polly-Pocket or Lego when I was a kid, I always hoped these tiny models would come alive and start speaking to me. “No country for small men” feeds this childhood fantasy – except these tiny people actually look realistic. It makes me contemplate the possibility of the existence of a tiny human colony existing on the face of our Earth.

One Response to “3D Storybook”

  1. Cris Arambuia February 10, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    I just want to mention I am very new to blogging and actually enjoyed your page. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You certainly come with amazing stories. With thanks for sharing your website page.

Leave a Reply

